Probably the coolest thing happened to me a couple of weeks ago while I was driving home from school. My professor let the class out early, which was awesome. So I was completely elated because of that and then that Miley Cyrus song “Party in the U.S.A” came on. I’m not ashamed to admit that I love that song and rock out to it. Amanda (my sister) and I do this thing where we leave each other messages singing whatever rockin’ song comes on the radio. Usually it’s “Build Me Up, Buttercup” by The Foundations.  So I give her a call, as usual, and leave her a message (I timed it perfectly too—came in right at the chorus). The song is still going, but I hang up the phone where I see this adorable little girl (maybe 12 years old) in the car in front of me listening to Miley Cyrus’ “Party in the U.S.A.” She starts waving at me and we hand-dance together for the remainder of the song.  The dance consists of “putting my hands up” and doing that Butterfly move from Napoleon Dynamite. Pretty sweet. Oh serendipity, you rock my world.

The song ends but she keeps turning around and smiling at me. Her sister who is next to her in the back seat turns around too. I’m totally afraid that I’ll crash into them at this point. Wouldn’t that be the worst ending to the story? Finally, we reach a red light and she’s still looking back to see if I’m there. Then she mouths something to me. Reading people’s mouths is not my forte so I’m like, “What?” She says it again and this time I figure it out. She said, “You’re pretty.” I’m flattered. “Thank you, you too,” I reply. The light turns green but I’m still behind her and she keeps smiling and I can’t stop smiling at this point. After about a mile and a half their car’s blinker starts to go…my new friend turns and as they do all three people wave good-bye.

Such a wonderful moment.